Creating hell for other people – and loving it.

The urge to dominate and exert power over vulnerable people has come up a few times in the years I’ve been posting to this “evil” blog, and it deserves a post to itself, because there are common patterns.
Let’s start with the remarkable spectacle of thousands of British girls who became victims of Pakistani sex rings and proceed to some other examples.
First this is the list of commonalities I find with this scandal in the UK and other examples I’ve come across:
1. The villains go out of their way to snare an innocent victim by being friendly.
2. They create a total world of terror for that victim
3. Sex is often involved
4. The victim is to be made wretched and ashamed
5. The perpetrator gains a sense of power

For those of you who don’t know what happened in the United Kingdom, thousands of young girls were tortured, and raped, and gang raped, by immigrant Muslim men. One victim who spoke up says this:

…I have a very fuzzy memory of the very beginning. My childhood friend remembers me being picked up from a primary school by an older man and being given ketamine, coming home completely out of it, with lots of new underwear, so it began earlier than I remember. [The man eventually raped her]… The minute he left, I ran a hot bath and just lay on the floor crying while I waited for it to fill. I felt so ashamed and dirty. Everything changed that day. I didn’t come out of my room unless I had to. I barely ate. I hated myself. It wasn’t long until he was back in touch, demanding that I see his friends. The majority were Pakistani Muslim men. If I objected, he threatened to show my parents the photos of me [he had said he was taking photos for a modeling agency]. I was terrified of them finding out, so I did as I was told. When the pictures didn’t bother me anymore, and I objected, I would get beatings instead. My ribs were kicked in several times, leaving massive bruises. I was hit with a chain. I was gang raped. I became very compliant, because saying no always led to much worse. The lives of my family were threatened by Jason and his friends: they said my house would be burned down while we slept, or people would come with baseball bats. I didn’t want my family hurt, so I just did everything I was told.

Another girl  (not the one in the post), enslaved in the UK
Another girl (not the one in the post), enslaved in the UK

I (the blogger) might think that these men are just frustrated because they can’t get sex, but they were married men. I did once come across a quote by a Swedish Muslim about rape of Swedish girls, saying the Muslim women were more intelligent and basically superior, but these men treat their Muslim wives badly and disrespectfully too as seen by the following continuation of the quote by the girl:

I have seen some horrendous things, heard some disgusting things when they talked amongst each other about the evil things they do to their wives. The men often spoke in groups about the horrific things they did to their wives and other women. I had to sit and listen. I was made to talk to their wives on the phone while they raped me, on many occasions. They found it funny, the men.

The threats:

 I have had a knife held to my throat while I was raped and told by my rapist that he could kill me then put me under the floorboards of his home and no one would know because he was going to Pakistan in a week. I was 16 or 17 years old. I have had a drill held to my knee while I was sat in a lounge room with around 6 other men, who all laughed and talked in their own language. All of these men were Pakistani Muslims. This all happened while they were waiting for their turn to rape the girl in the other room.

The feeling of being disgusting:

…None of the men used protection, so I caught multiple STIs several times. I wasn’t allowed to use protection. I felt disgusting, so dirty. Each time I was taken off with these men, sometimes this would happen two or three times a day. Whenever they wanted me, I had to go, whatever time of day it was. I missed a lot of school because of this. It didn’t matter if I was crying while they raped me, they would laugh and do it anyway.

More on the effort to make the victim feel disgusting and wretched:

…I’ve been peed on, spat on, slapped, kicked, punched, called a white whore.

This British girl could have spent the rest of her life as an unwilling bride in Pakistan but:

“Luckily for me, I didn’t have a passport.

What is this girl’s explanation of the men’s behavior?

These men find it ok to rape non-Muslim girls. It’s in their culture. It’s a brutal cult and needs to be stopped.

This woman still lives in fear, in the country that stood up to Hitler, and whose soldiers were so effective in Iraq, because:

I still see these men today, they still recognise me, I have moved several times but it’s ineffective. They are all still free. The English “justice” system is crap. … What kind of country, what kind of civilization, allows this to happen to its young girls? What deep sickness has overtaken Britain, that the authorities will not act to protect girls in this situation?

Interestingly, she wasn’t believed by the police or by medical professionals:

….I have records dating back about 14 years of me trying to get help, telling medical professionals. And them not believing me.

For a non-Islamic example of the common thread, let us jump across the Atlantic, to the U.S.A., where a housewife named Sandra Bearden drove  south of the border, to a poor Mexican family, and offered to hire their little girl to do housework.

… So she [Mrs. Bearden] drove to a town in Mexico where she was introduced to Maria and her parents. Maria was only twelve. She had very little schooling and dreamed of getting an education-a dream that her parents encouraged but could do nothing to achieve. Over coffee in their small kitchen, Bearden offered Maria a job, as well as the chance to attend school, learn English, and taste the rich life of “el Norte”. The fact that Sandra herself was Mexican born helped Maria’s parents feel they could trust her, and they gave their permission. Sandra smuggled Maria across the border in her expensive car and drove her to her home in Laredo.

On arrival, Maria was dragged into hell. Sandra Bearden used violence and terror to squeeze work and obedience from the child. From early morning till midafternoon, Maria cooked, cleaned, scrubbed, and polished. If Maria dozed off from exhaustion, Sandra would blast pepper spray into Maria’s eyes. A broom was broken over the girl’s back and a few days later, a bottle against her head.

There is more on this in another blog post of mine (about slavery in America today), but one horrifying fact is that:

“it is hard to imagine, but Maria was one of the lucky slaves. In America, most slaves spend four to five years in bondage; Maria was a slave for just seven months. They say “We all ask: ‘How could someone so abuse a child–to stake her in the sun, feed her excrement, beat her bloody?’ Yet Sandra Bearden’s treatment of Maria is not unusual.

Then there is the case of Lisa Steinberg.

Lisa Steinberg
Lisa Steinberg

Joel Steinberg was an attorney, who married a woman, Hedda Nussbaum, who worshipped him.  He beat this woman, and controlled her to the point of making this gentle writer of children’s books into an accomplice, if only by inaction. Then he (or both he and Hedda, I’m not sure) decided to adopt a baby. Joel brutalized this child, and Hedda later testified there was also sexual abuse. And together, over a period of six years, they oversaw the sad, anguished life of a little girl who never had a chance against the brutality, neglect and ultimate destruction by these two people (but see the note below this post).
Lisa finally died when Joel punched her too hard.  He punched Lisa because Lisa had been “looking at him.”

Joel Steinberg had persuaded the biological single mother of this child to give her up for a better life.  It is possible that he wanted the child precisely to indulge his desire for total power and control.

Then there was the case of Michelle Knight.

Michelle Knight - a high price to pay for a puppy.
Michelle Knight – a high price to pay for a puppy.

Michelle Knight was offered a car ride by a nice man named Ariel Castro. As she knew one of his daughters, Knight accepted the lift. She then agreed to enter Castro’s Cleveland home, when he promised to give her a puppy for her son.
She would not emerge from that house for another 11 years.

As a result of the sexual abuse Knight suffered during her time as a prisoner, she reportedly became pregnant five times, but miscarried each time after being starved and beaten by Castro. Two other young women, Amanda Berry and Gina DeJesus, were later abducted by Castro; Knight was forced to deliver the child Berry gave birth to while in captivity. Castro also taunted Knight about the fact that DeJesus and Berry had family members desperate to find them, while no one was looking for her.

She was rescued when Berry managed to get to the front door and scream for help, getting the attention of a neighbor who managed to force the door (accounts differ here).

Perhaps if Ms. Berry had not gotten to that door, those women would have been held for another ten years.

It is amazing to think how just one man, a bus driver who owns a house, can create so much evil.

Now as for my claim that this about a desire in the minds of these twisted evil types for “power” – it may seem that this is not the case – that the desire is for sex. It may seem also that the perpetrators don’t particularly dislike their victims, they just take any juicy victim that comes along.

But an article on ordinary school-yard bullying says this:
“It provides these kids with a sense of power,” said Catherine Bradshaw, a developmental psychologist who studies bullying at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health in Baltimore. “It’s a way of pulling your core group closer and putting someone else out of it.”

“The simple reason is it shows that they have power over others,” agreed Marlene Snyder, Development Director for the Olweus Bullying Prevention Program in the United States, based in Clemson, S.C.

Snyder emphasized that the definition of bullying is important: … “A person who bullies intentionally picks out someone who they know is weaker than themselves so that they can intimidate, harass or humiliate them to do their bidding. It is a misuse of their power. This behavior is usually repeated and of course this power differential is there.”

It seems to me that this element is present in the above examples.

WatershipDownAs a child I read a fantasy book, Watership Down which is a saga about rabbits. Here is one quote:

“Animals don’t behave like men,’ he said. ‘If they have to fight, they fight; and if they have to kill they kill. But they don’t sit down and set their wits to work to devise ways of spoiling other creatures’ lives and hurting them…”
— Richard Adams, Watership Down

Sources:

See more at: http://pamelageller.com/2015/05/pamela-geller-exclusive-the-uks-rape-jihad-a-survivors-tale.html/#sthash.LijGjRNj.dpuf (Pamela Geller is controversial, especially after the Mohammad cartoon contest she sponsored, but obviously the young woman who tells her story in the blog contacted Geller because she saw her as a person who faces evil head-on).

https://understandingevil.wordpress.com/2010/03/25/the-slave-next-door-two-stories-of-slaves-and-power-in-the-u-s/

https://understandingevil.wordpress.com/2014/02/08/how-children-see-evil/
http://www.biography.com/people/michelle-knight-21399719#rescue-and-after

Note: Watership Down was rejected six times before it was accepted by Rex Collings. The one-man London publisher Collings wrote to an associate, “I’ve just taken on a novel about rabbits, one of them with extra-sensory perception. Do you think I’m mad?”

Hedda Nussbaum was the most physically battered woman that her interviewers had ever seen.  She wrote a book about her 12 years as a battered wife, and one reviewer on Amazon says:

For those who gave this book a negative review – rather, for those who gave the AUTHOR a negative review – I must strongly disagree. Apparently those reviewers have been fortunate enough never to have been in a domestic violence relationship. I have, and I can understand and sympathize with Hedda Nussbaum. Abusive men are persistent and often clever. They trap the woman into a hopeless situation. Because she loves the man, she believes his lies that she is at fault; so she tries to do better. But she can’t because the abuser will continue to find fault with her; and, like Joel Steinberg, will even invent faults if there are no real ones to use as weapons.
To me this is a very honest book, showing the author’s deep love for her children and her pain upon losing them. Some reviewers called Ms. Nussbaum a liar. I believe the opposite. She admits to her shortcomings as well as to both using and selling drugs. Some reviewers called Ms. Nussbaum a murderer. It is very clear that she is NOT a murderer. She, like her daughter, was a helpless victim of an evil man. He brainwashed her and deluded her into being a mere automaton.
One of the lessons to learn from this book is that a woman can escape the control of such a man. Unfortunately, in this case a child had to die before that occurred. But once out, Ms. Nussbaum took control of her life, decided to help other abused women and pursued that end religiously. I congratulate Ms. Nussbaum on an excellent book that was a personal inspiration to me to better my own life.

One thought on “Creating hell for other people – and loving it.

Leave a Reply

